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Be Legendary.”

The reader agrees that use of this
information is entirely at the customer's
own risk. The Public Service Commis-
sion’s services are provided “as is,”
without warranty of any kind, either
expressed or implied, including without
limitation any warranty for information
provided through or in connection with
this service.

Responsibilities of
Auctioneers/Auction Clerks

Who may obtain a license?

North Dakota law requires that licenses be
granted only to individuals who bear a good
reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair
dealing and who are competent to transact
the business of an auctioneer or a clerk. An
applicant for a license must be at least 18
years of age.

What is an auctioneer and what are
the license requirements?

An auctioneer is a person, who for a
compensation or valuable consideration,
sells or offers for sale either real or personal
property at public auction as a whole or
partial vocation.

Auctioneers are required to maintain a
$5,000 surety bond.

Every individual crying at public auction
must maintain a separate license. Under no
circumstances can one auctioneer cry under
another auctioneer’s license.

What is an auction clerk and what
are the license requirements?

An auction clerk is any person, firm,
partnership, etc., who, for a compensation or
valuable consideration, is employed either
directly or indirectly by an owner while

the sale is in progress to record each item
offered for sale including its selling price
and the buyer’s name or number, to collect
sale proceeds, to pay sale expenses, and

to prepare a closing statement and make
settlement to parties.

Auction clerks are required to maintain a
$10,000 surety bond. Federally insured
financial institutions are exempt from the
bonding requirements. Every clerk must
maintain a separate trust account where all
funds collected from said sale will be
deposited immediately.

The auction clerk may hire people to work
under his/her auction clerk license and is
responsible for the actions of such workers.

What are the auction clerk’s
responsibilities?

The auction clerk must pay the seller any
monies collected within 30 days of the date of
the sale. The clerk must prepare a full closing
statement and provide it to the owner and

the auctioneer after each auction sale. It shall
contain at a minimum:

The name and address of the owner or
owners;

The date of the sale;

The name of the auctioneer and auction
clerk;

The gross proceeds of the sale;

The location and number of the custodial
account;

All expenses associated with the sale
including the auctioneers’ and clerks’ fees,
advertising, and other expenses relevant
to the sale; and

% Alist of all purchasers at the sale and a
description and price of each item sold.



North Dakota Public Service Commission

Issue AU-1, Page 2, Updated April 2022

Responsibilities of
Auctioneers/Auction Clerks

(cont.)

What is required in a written
contract?

Auctioneers and auction clerks are required
to enter into written contracts when selling
the property of others. The licensee must
retain a copy of each contract for at least two
years after the auction. The only exception
to a written contract is for livestock markets
or consignment sales where the value of

the seller’s property is less than $500. The
contract must contain at a minimum:

€ The licensee’s name, state license number,
business address, and business telephone
number;

¥ A general description of the property to
be sold at auction, any restrictions, and a
statement identifying whether or not the
licensee is authorized to purchase at the
auction;

€ A description of the services to be
provided (state which party is responsible
for advertising and other expenses) and
the consideration for the services;

€ The date or dates when the items will be
sold at auction; and

€ A disclosure of the amount of bond
that the licensee has on file with the
commission and the commission’s address
and phone number.

What does “with reserve” and
“without reserve” mean to me?

If an auction sale is with reserve, the
auctioneer may withdraw the goods at any
time until he announces completion of the

sale. If an auction sale is without reserve, it
means that the sale is absolute and items cannot
be withdrawn. Auction sales are considered to
be with reserve unless stated on the sale bill.

Who is exempt from licensing?

A license is not required if the sale is an
isolated transaction or if:

®: The sale is an estate sale conducted by an
executor or an administrator;

€ The sale is being conducted by a sheriff or
some other person under court order;

€ The sale is being conducted by a public
official acting in an official capacity; or

€ Livestock is being sold and the livestock is
either purebred or registered.

Persons exempt from licensing or bonding
under this section are required to comply with
all other provisions of North Dakota Century
Code Chapter 51-05.1.

What do I do if I have been harmed?

To find out if an auctioneer or auction clerk

is licensed in North Dakota, visit the Public
Service Commission website at
www.psc.nd.gov or call (701) 328-4097. The
Public Service Commission may be able to help
people who are harmed by the inappropriate
actions or conduct of licensed auctioneers and
auction clerks.




