

NEWS RELEASE April 6, 2015 For Immediate Release, Contact: Brian P. Kalk, (701) 261-0373 Julie Fedorchak, (701) 391-1140 Randy Christmann, (701) 328-4091

## North Dakotans Reminded to Call Before You Dig Governor Dalrymple Proclaims Safe Digging Month in North Dakota

BISMARCK, ND – Governor Jack Dalrymple has proclaimed April as Safe Digging Month in North Dakota. In recognition, the North Dakota Public Service Commission (PSC) is reminding everyone of the potential dangers and consequences of digging without first calling 8-1-1, North Dakota's Call-Before-You-Dig number.

"With the early spring, everyone is exited to get outside and get projects done," said Commissioner Brian Kalk, who holds the pipeline safety portfolio. "Before starting any digging project, remember to call or click to ensure the safety of you and your family."

The process is simple. North Dakota law requires anyone conducting an excavation to notify 8-1-1 at least two days in advance of digging. Personnel will be sent to mark the locations of the underground facilities at no cost to the caller, typically within a couple of days. The markings are valid for 21 days after they are placed. This process is coordinated through North Dakota One Call. The Public Service Commission's role is to enforce the requirements of the state's damage prevention laws and take action when violations are reported to the Commission. The PSC can levy a fine up to \$25,000 per violation depending on severity.

"North Dakota is experiencing growth in construction and underground infrastructure – making the 8-1-1 program more important than ever," said Commission Chairman Julie Fedorchak. "Locating the pipelines, electrical wires and fibers underground before digging is the only way to protect this infrastructure, the environment and the safety of everyone near it. We urge people to comply in full with this program."

Each year North Dakota's underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by unintentional damage from those who fail to call 8-1-1 to have underground facilities located prior to digging. Since 2009, the PSC has taken enforcement action in more than 40 cases related to violations of the Call-Before-You-Dig law. In total, approximately \$66,000 in fines have been assessed against companies or individuals who have violated the law. The consequences of striking an underground utility can be severe including explosions resulting in injury or death, service interruptions or damage to the environment.

"Following this simple process, which has been law in North Dakota for two decades, may prevent you from damaging facilities and getting fined," said Commissioner Randy Christmann. "More importantly, it may save your life!"

The significant residential and business growth occurring throughout North Dakota and the increased demand for pipeline infrastructure to support the energy industry have dramatically increased demand for the One-Call Program. Online requests and calls from 8-1-1 to utilities requesting locates continue to increase each year.

Safe Digging Month is endorsed each April by the North Dakota Public Service Commission, the Common Ground Alliance and the North Dakota One-Call Board. For more information about 8-1-1, visit the North Dakota One-Call Board's website at <a href="www.ndonecall.com">www.ndonecall.com</a>. For safety tips, best practices and other information, visit the Common Ground Alliance website at <a href="www.commongroundalliance.com">www.commongroundalliance.com</a>.

The North Dakota Public Service Commission is a constitutionally created state agency with authority to permit, site and regulate certain business activities in the state including electric and gas utilities, telecommunications companies, power plants, electric transmission lines, pipelines, railroads, grain elevators, auctioneers, commercial weighing devices, pipeline safety and coal mine reclamation. For more information, contact the Public Service Commission at (701) 328-2400 or <a href="https://www.psc.nd.gov">www.psc.nd.gov</a>.

Note to Media: A copy of the proclamation is included on the next page.

###

Find us on Twitter: twitter.com/ndpsc@NDPSC



## PROCLAMATION **SAFE DIGGING MONTH**APRIL 2015

WHEREAS, each year, the nation's underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by unintentional damage by those who fail to call 8-1-1 to have underground facilities located prior to digging, resulting in possible service interruptions, damage to the environment, personal injury and even death; and

**WHEREAS,** in an effort to reduce these damages, the North Dakota Public Service Commission, the Common Ground Alliance and the North Dakota One Call Board promote the national Call-Before-You-Dig number, 8-1-1, as well as the use of safe digging practices; and

WHEREAS, designated by the Federal Communications Commission in 2005, 8-1-1 provides potential excavators and homeowners with a simple number to reach their local One Call Center to request utility locations at the intended dig site; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota law requires that anyone planning excavation or demolition must notify North Dakota 8-1-1, and if a facility must be located, personnel will be sent to mark the location of underground facilities at no cost to the requesting party; and

WHEREAS, by following safe digging practices, excavators and homeowners can save time and money by making a simple call to 8-1-1 in advance of any digging project, waiting the required amount of time for the utility to be located, respecting the location marks by maintaining visual definition throughout the excavation, and digging with care around the marks; and

**WHEREAS,** North Dakota excavators and homeowners are encouraged to know what is below, and to call 8-1-1 before digging to ensure the safety and connectivity of our communities.

**NOW, THEREFORE,** as Governor of the State of North Dakota, I do hereby proclaim April 2015, **SAFE DIGGING MONTH** in the state of North Dakota.

Jack Dalrymple

Governor

ATTEST:

Secretary of State